Modifying Assignment Details

Before you begin modifying assignment details it’s recommended that you read about the Claim Assignments Page to get a good understanding of how to find assignments, monitor important assignment milestones, and change assignment statuses.  In this article we'll explore other ways you can modify assignment details.

How to Change the Assignment Type

A company that adds an assignment to a claim can change the assignment type.  Note that the assignment type CANNOT be changed if the assignment has already been marked ‘complete’. 

To change the assignment type within an existing assignment follow these steps:

1. With the claim open click on the ‘Assignments’ tab.

2. Click on the Assignment you wish to change the assignment type for.

3. When the Assignment blade opens on the right-hand side of your screen click on the drop down arrow beside the existing assignment type and select the new assignment type.

4. Click on the ‘Save’ button at the top right-hand corner of the screen.
5. Click outside of the blade to close the menu and you will see the assignment type has been changed.

How to Edit Assignment Notes

Only the company that has created the assignment for a claim can enter assignment notes. 

To edit assignment notes do the following:

1. With the claim open click on the ‘Assignments’ tab.

2. Click on the assignment you wish to edit the notes for.

3. When the Assignment blade opens on the right-hand side of your screen click in the ‘notes’ field and begin typing new notes or editing the existing notes. 

4. When the edits are complete click on the ‘Save’ button at the top right-hand corner of the screen.

5. Click outside the blade to close the menu.

How to Change a User's Role in an Assignment

When an assignment is made to a user there is a default role that is assigned to that user per their company configuration.  However, this user role can be changed if desired. 

To change a user’s role within an assignment do the following:

1. With the claim open click on the Originator's name.

2. The Participants blade will open on the right-hand side of your screen.  This list will show all participants in the claim categorized by company.  Select the participant whose role you wish to change and click on their name.
3. Another blade will open to show the participant’s information including their current role.  Click on the drop down arrow at the end of the ‘Role’ field and select the role you want this user to have within this assignment.

4. Click on ‘Save’ at the top right-hand corner of the screen. 

How to Remove an Assignment

If needed, an assignment can be removed from a claim.  It should be noted that removing an assignment will remove all of the documentation associated with that assignment (diagrams, estimates, photos, etc.) and remove it from the claim Assignments Page.  Although a record of what happened in the assignment will be kept in the Timeline, there will be no other record of the assignment anywhere else in the claim.  Additionally, removing an assignment cannot be undone so it is important that a user be sure before they remove an assignment from a claim.

To remove an assignment from a claim follow these steps:

1. With the claim open click on the ‘Assignments’ tab.

2. Click on the assignment name you wish to remove (unassign) from the claim.

3. Click on the “…” button at the top right-hand corner of the blade and select ‘Unassign’.

Note: if there is no “…” button it is because the claim is currently owned by another user.  You must either have them release ownership of the claim or you can manually ‘revoke’ ownership and then you will have the ability to delete the assignment.

4. If there is an estimate associated with this assignment you will be prompted to confirm that the removal of this assignment will delete the estimate.  Confirm by clicking on ‘UNASSIGN’ and the assignment will be deleted and removed from the Assignments tab. 

How to Remove a User from an Assignment

A user can be removed from any assignment inside a claim.  Every assignment in a claim requires at least one participant who is part of the assignment.  If the last participant inside an assignment is removed, the assignment itself will be removed from the claim.  Therefore it is recommended that if a user is being replaced by another user on an assignment, the new user should be added first and then the original user removed. 

To remove a user from an assignment follow these steps:

1. With the claim open click on the ‘Assignments’ tab.

2. Click on the assignment name that contains the user you wish to remove.

3. Click on the ‘Participants’ tab in the blade that opens on the right-hand side of the screen.

4. Click on the user's name you wish to remove from the assignment.

5. When the blade displaying that user’s information appears, click on the ‘Remove User’ button at the bottom.

6. You will be prompted to confirm the removal of the user from the assignment.  Click ‘Remove’ and the user will now be removed from the assignment.

Note: A user can only remove participants from their company (with the right permissions).  Only the Originator of the claim can remove participants that are not from their own company. 

Completing an Assignment

An assignment will remain open until the assignment status is marked set to ‘Assignment Completed’.

To mark an assignment complete follow these steps:

1. With the claim open click on the ‘Assignments’ tab.

2. Find the assignment you wish to mark as ‘Complete’ and either access the ‘Complete’ status from the ‘Next Steps’ or click on the ‘…’ to pull up a complete set of statuses available. 

3. Click on the ‘Assignment Completed’ status.  You may be prompted to confirm that you can complete that specific assignment.  Click ‘Complete’.

Note:  When a user attempts to mark an assignment as ‘Complete’ but the assignment has one or more open estimates they may be prompted to either mark the open estimates as either ‘Completed’ or ‘Cancelled’.  This depends on a setting in the Claim Defaults.    

4. The assignment status will now be set to ‘Assignment Completed’ and the timeline color will change to green to reflect that status.    

Thanks for reading about Modifying Assignment Details!







Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.
North America
(877) 862-8069
support@symbilitysolutions.com
Français (Canada)
(888) 579-8053
soutien.technique@symbilitysolutions.com
Deutschland
+49 (800) 360 3655
hilfe@symbilitysolutions.com
U.K. and the rest of Europe
+44 0330 380 1282
property.support.uk@symbilitysolutions.com
Australia
1300 819 917
support.au@symbilitysolutions.com
New Zealand
0800 796 245
support.nz@symbilitysolutions.co